Liturgical Calendar

The Current Liturgical Year is Year C

The Primary Gospel is Luke


The following is taken from the Book of Common Prayer, 1979.

The Church Year consists of two cycles of feasts and holy days: one is
dependent upon the movable date of the Sunday of the Resurrection or
Easter Day; the other, upon the fixed date of December 25, the Feast of
our Lord's Nativity or Christmas Day.

Easter Day is always the first Sunday after the full moon that falls on or
after March 21. It cannot occur before March 22 or after April 25.

The sequence of all Sundays of the Church Year depends upon the date of
Easter Day. But the Sundays of Advent are always the four Sundays
before Christmas Day, whether it occurs on a Sunday or a weekday. The
date of Easter also determines the beginning of Lent on Ash Wednesday,
and the feast of the Ascension on a Thursday forty days after Easter Day.

  1. Principal Feasts

The Principal Feasts observed in this Church are the following:

Easter Day All Saints' Day, November 1
Ascension Day Christmas Day, December 25
The Day of Pentecost The Epiphany, January 6
Trinity Sunday

These feasts take precedence of any other day or observance. All Saints'
Day may always be observed on the Sunday following November 1, in
addition to its observance on the fixed date.

  1. Sundays

All Sundays of the year are feasts of our Lord Jesus Christ. In addition to
the dated days listed above, only the following feasts, appointed on fixed
days, take precedence of a Sunday:

The Holy Name
The Presentation
The Transfiguration

The feast of the Dedication of a Church, and the feast of its patron or
title, may be observed on, or be transferred to, a Sunday, except in the
seasons of Advent, Lent, and Easter.

All other Feasts of our Lord, and all other Major Feasts appointed on
fixed days in the Calendar, when they occur on a Sunday, are normally
transferred to the first convenient open day within the week. When
desired, however, the Collect, Preface, and one or more of the Lessons
appointed for the Feast may be substituted for those of the Sunday, but
not from the Last Sunday after Pentecost through the First Sunday after
the Epiphany, or from the Last Sunday after the Epiphany through Trinity Sunday.

With the express permission of the bishop, and for urgent and sufficient
reason, some other special occasion may be observed on a Sunday.

  1. Holy Days

The following Holy Days are regularly observed throughout the year.
Unless otherwise ordered in the preceding rules concerning Sundays, they
have precedence over all other days of commemoration or of special

Other Feasts of Our Lord

The Holy Name Saint John the Baptist
The Presentation The Transfiguration
The Annunciation Holy Cross Day
The Visitation

Other  Major Feasts

All feasts of Apostles Saint Mary the Virgin
All feasts of Evangelists Saint Michael and All Angels
Saint Stephen Saint James of Jerusalem
The Holy Innocents Independence Day
Saint Joseph Thanksgiving Day
Saint Mary Magdalene


Ash Wednesday Good Friday

Feasts appointed of fixed days in the Calendar are not observed on the
days of Holy Week or of Easter Week. Major Feasts falling in these weeks
are transferred to the week following the Second Sunday of Easter, in the
order of their occurrence.

Feasts appointed on fixed days in the Calendar do not take precedence of
Ash Wednesday.

Feasts of our Lord and other Major Feasts appointed on fixed days,
which fall upon or are transferred to a weekday, may be observed on any
open day within the week. This provision does not apply to Christmas
Day, the Epiphany, and All Saints' Day.

  1. Days of Special Devotion

The following days are observed by special acts of discipline and

Ash Wednesday and the other weekdays of Lent and of Holy Week,
except the feast of the Annunciation.

Good Friday and all other Fridays of the year, in commemoration of the
Lord's crucifixion, except for Fridays in the Christmas and Easter
seasons, and any Feasts of our Lord which occur on a Friday.

  1. Days of Optional Observance

Subject to the rules of precedence governing Principal Feasts, Sundays,

and Holy Days, the following may be observed with the Collects, Psalms,
and Lessons duly authorized by this Church:

Commemorations listed in the Calendar

Other Commemorations, using the Common of Saints
The Ember Days, traditionally observed on the Wednesdays, Fridays, and
Saturdays after the First Sunday in Lent, the Day of Pentecost, Holy
Cross Day, and December 13

The Rogation Days, traditionally observed on Monday, Tuesday, and
Wednesday before Ascension Day

Various Occasions

Provided, that there is no celebration of the Eucharist for any such
occasion on Ash Wednesday, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and Holy
Saturday; and provided further, that none of the Propers appointed for Various Occasions is used as a substitute for, or as an addition to, the Proper appointed for the Principal Feasts.